AAG Student Paper Competition

2014 IPSG Student Paper Competition

The Indigenous Peoples Specialty Group (IPSG) invites submissions for its annual Graduate Student Paper Competition, in conjunction with the 2014 AAG general meeting. We invite graduate student papers addressing Indigenous critical cartography, geographic research, education, methodologies, and/or theory. Special consideration will be given to papers that do one or more of the following:

*   Foster geographic research and education that involves the Indigenous peoples of the world, past and present

*   Prioritize Indigenous people(s)’ perspectives, voices, and epistemologies

*   Encourage approaches to research and teaching that support Indigenous goals of self-determination over their territories and/or cultures

*   Help build relationships of mutual trust between Indigenous communities and academic geographers

*   Contribute to decolonizing the discipline and practice of Geography

The award for the top student paper includes a cash award of US$150.00 and a one-year honorary student membership in the IPSG.

Eligible papers for this competition must be written manuscripts. It is preferred that the manuscript be sole-authored by a graduate student. Papers co-authored with a faculty member will not be considered. However, manuscripts co-authored in collaboration with a person/people at the community-scale will be considered. The paper needs to be presented at either the AAG annual meeting in Tampa, FL or any regional geography meeting or another professional conference. Papers should be in English, with translation provided for any quotes or sections in a language other than English.

Papers will be evaluated by IPSG board members, which include both faculty members and graduate students. The committee reserves the right not to award a prize if submissions are not of sufficient quality.

Interested students should submit a copy of their conference paper electronically by April 1, 2014 to either of the IPSG co-chairs: Mark Palmer at <https://exchange.ou.edu/owa/redir.aspx?C=wBGis-dhH0K1VorQk3LyrQBQsVb5i9AI8c1cSi8EOGhHSDZ3PgS7onv-66mGaM2_snSuuHbTgCA.&URL=mailto%3apalmermh%40missouri.edupalmermh@missouri.edu<mailto:palmermh@missouri.edu> or Juli Hazlewood at <https://exchange.ou.edu/owa/redir.aspx?C=wBGis-dhH0K1VorQk3LyrQBQsVb5i9AI8c1cSi8EOGhHSDZ3PgS7onv-66mGaM2_snSuuHbTgCA.&URL=mailto%3ajahaze%40gmail.comjahaze@gmail.com<mailto:jahaze@gmail.com>. (Please put “IPSG Student Paper Submission” in the subject line.) Any questions about the competition should also be directed to the co-chairs.